I am going to start off by saying that I have never been a huge feminist, I understand where they are coming from, but I never really believed in the cause until more recently. Through this project I have been able to uncover some pretty startling research that has changed my opinion on the subject; objectification. Health teachers always said that the media is preying on young girls teaching them to change their bodies to match the imagery displayed through magazines and TV yada yada – it’s just one of those things that you can buy into or not, yeah those magazines may be telling you ways to slim down for the summer and don’t eat to much over the holiday’s, but if we are being realistic, lets look at the childhood obesity rates in America and decide if they are preying or teaching.

ANYWAYS, objectification is the recognizing of a person (specifically women) as less than a being. This is a huge issue is our society today as well as 150 years ago. GWTW is a perfect example of this. The entire introduction of the book objectifies women, from Mammy saying “you can have time to get to know the guy and show him your brains after marriage-put on a pretty face now and by the time he realizes your a human being its too late for him to get rid of you anyways” to the Mitchell explaining how Ellen tried getting all of Gerald (Scarlett’s father) out of Scarlett, wanting to rid any unfeminine traits to appeal more to men. The women in the story and women today are being objectified, the southern women in the novel to nothing more as pretty figures in corsets and petticoats, fainting and faking in order to catch a man’s attention-because how dare a woman be smarter than a man.

In a study I found here it talks about how the more skin a woman shows the less a man thinks she is less capable of intelligent thought. And saying that men are the only ones who think this is a wrong assumption because everyone does it. I believe this is the number one cause for “suppression” of women in society.

The sick yet seemingly realistic question comes to mind “Would you rather have beauty or brains?”

~~~~~Also I don’t really have time to think more about this right now but I found a man’s perspective on this subject and I didn’t want to loose the site so here it is!

About mmarie94

Hi! I am an AP Lit Student at Penn High School (am I allowed to say that Mr. Coffee?) ["oh well" shoulder shrug] and this blog is to discuss my senior exit project with my peers and others! I am a fan of most literature, except some teeny bopper romances (Sara Dessen that means you sorry), and my favorites come straight from the Barnes & Noble classics shelf. So enjoy, comment, and read on!

Leave a Reply

