For my senior exit project I really wanted to find a book that was filled with themes and symbols and motifs, which led me straight to Gone with the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell.  I have seen the movie and was very interested in reading the novel.  Within this story you are able to see the South through its many changes ranging from wealth to destruction.  This not only allows you to see the changes in the landscape and the society as a whole, but Mitchell shows you the specific changes of a singular character, Scarlet, and her journey through the Civil War.  This novel also gives you a look into the intelligence of women within this time period and the importance of their strength.

For my research paper I think I would like to explore the rising idea of feminism in that time and its effect on the characters as well as the society as whole.  I would also like to elaborate on Scarlet’s growth and how the civil war not only gave slaves their independence but also forced women into theirs.  I believe that the many cultural and societal changes that take place within this story are important in displaying the development of the ideals that our country thrives on today.  I would also like to explore character development and how their backgrounds can potentially be compared and contrasted with the varying beliefs that existed in that time.  Similarly I wanted to investigate the differences offered in the locations within the story from calm and peaceful Tara, to large bustling Atlanta.  I think these concepts could lead me to a dense paper exploring the background of huge concepts.

4 responses »

  1. macoffeegrounds says:

    I’ve never read it, but it’s moving up on my list of importance. I’m excited about this.

  2. sali34 says:

    THIS TOPIC SOUNDS GREAT! MY PARENTS HAVE ALWAYS SAID THAT I NEED TO WATCH THAT MOVIE. IF YOU’RE DOING FEMINISM I WOULD LOOK AT JANE EYRE AND A DOLL’S HOUSE… (THE SAME BOOKS I TOLD ABBY TO LOOK AT) GOOOOD LUCK!

    NOW GO COMMENT ON MINE!

  3. sali34 says:

    I PROMISE IM NOT ANGRY. IDK WHY IT’S TYPING IN ALL CAPS.

  4. macoffeegrounds says:

    For a potentially more daunting, but also interesting link, have you thought about how you might bring in Cold Mountain? Do you know Cold Mountain?
    http://www.stfrancis.edu/content/historyinthemovies/coldmountain.htm — Though it looks at the film, you could certainly also read the novel.

Leave a Reply

